Walk, Cycle The Hobsonville Motorway


On Sunday, we have a chance to check out the Hobsonville motorway half-way through construction.

Clarks Lane Bridge |NZTA

You can cycle - or walk the route which spans 6.3km of the new motorway from Clarks Lane footbridge continuing to Trig Road Bridge, SH16/SH18 flyover and then onto Brigham Creek Road/SH16.

Cyclists on mountain bikes can cycle the route from 9am to 10am and pedestrians can start the walk at 10am.

The six kilometre, four-lane Hobsonville motorway is the last section of the new SH18 to be completed and will connect to the Upper Harbour Bridges and Greenhithe motorway at the eastern end and the Northwestern Motorway at the western end.

The Rotary Clubs of West Auckland will be collecting a $5 entry fee with all proceeds going to a new heart defibrillator (emergency device) for the recently opened St John Ambulance station in Whenuapai and a new training vehicle for the local NZ Fire Service in Waitakere.

Hobsonville Road bridge | NZTA

Registration and payment of the entry fee is at Clarks Lane. Access to the carpark is only from Hobsonville Road via Sinton Road in Hobsonville.

A wristband will be given on entry and includes a free bus ride back to the start of the route. Buses will be running throughout the day to pick up and drop off people at Clarks Lane, Trig Road and Brigham Creek Road/SH16. Dogs on a lead are allowed on the route but are not permitted on buses.

There are stops at several points along the way with a main marquee at Trig Road site office.

The $220M project also includes a three kilometre extension of SH16 to a new roundabout at Brigham Creek Road. The project will provide a better connection between Waitakere and North Shore cities and Rodney District and complete the key northern link of the Western Ring Route. The project is scheduled to be completed in 2012.





You can be the first one to leave a comment.


Leave a Comment


XHTML: You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>