Auckland gets Volvo Race Stopover


As discussed here last week, Auckland has today been confirmed as a stopover port for the Volvo Ocean Race.

Formerly the Whitbread Round the World Race, The Volvo Ocean Race takes place every three years.

The 2011–2012 race starts in Alicante, Spain in October next year, and is punctuated by a series of stopovers at well-known ports.

Auckland will stage the leg four finish from Sanya in China and the start of leg five, which will take the fleet around Cape Horn to a finish in Itajai, Brazil.

Auckland City and the Government will each contribute $1.5m towards it.

Auckland Mayor John Banks says the benefits to Auckland are “increased job opportunities in the marine and hospitality sectors, a boom in tourism, an estimated TV audience of 1.8 billion people in 200 countries, and the chance to showcase our energy, vibrancy and waterfront to the world.”

John Banks, MC Peter Lester and Nat's Maurice Williamson |Auck City

The route includes: start port Alicante/Spain, Cape Town/South Africa, Abu Dhabi/UAE, Sanya/China, Auckland/New Zealand, Itajai/Brazil, Miami/USA, Lisbon/Portugal, Lorient/France and finish port Galway/Ireland.
Auckland hosted the event seven times previously: 1977-78, 1981-82, 1985-86, 1990-90, 1993-94, 1997-09, 2001-02 , Wellington hosted the event in 2005-06



  1. Bryan says:

    Great………Lets hope we get good coverage from the TV companies and not “lip Service”


Leave a Comment


XHTML: You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>